Thinking About the Windows 10 Upgrade? Say Goodbye to Some Features
I remember how excited I was when I heard that upgrade from Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 to Windows 10 was absolutely free for the first year. Now that the company has announced that with Windows 10 upgrade you will lose some features, I am not so sure.
Windows 10 will release on 29 July and although it has some new kickass features lined up for the users like the Hello automatic login, Edge web browser and Cortana personal assistant, a number of features will be gone forever.
The following features won’t be available after Windows 10 upgrade; Microsoft Windows website’s official page states that these features will be removed from your PC when you upgrade.
- If you have Windows 7 Home Premium, Windows 7 Professional, Windows 7 Ultimate, Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, or Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center and you install Windows 10, Windows Media Center will be removed.
- Watching DVDs requires separate playback software
- Windows 7 desktop gadgets will be removed as part of installing Windows 10.
- Windows 10 Home users will have updates from Windows Update automatically available. Windows 10 Pro and Windows 10 Enterprise users will have the ability to defer updates.
- Solitaire, Minesweeper, and Hearts Games that come pre-installed on Windows 7 will be removed as part of installing the Windows 10 upgrade. Microsoft has released our version of Solitaire and Minesweeper called the “Microsoft Solitaire Collection” and “Microsoft Minesweeper.”
- If you have a USB floppy drive, you will need to download the latest driver from Windows Update or from the manufacturer’s website.
- If you have Windows Live Essentials installed on your system, the OneDrive application is removed and replaced with the inbox version of OneDrive.
However there is no need to be upset, these features won’t just disappear they will be available via third party apps and alternatives. Media Player Classic or the VLC Media Player will work just fine once the DVD playback is removed.
Same is the case with all other features being removed, they can either be used through third party apps or alternative apps. These can never serve with the exact same features though.