Facebook Scam Alert: Phishing Reported!
Looks like phishers are getting smarter with each day passing. A new Facebook scam reporting phishing has the potential to scam unsuspected people.
If you have received message from a Facebook account by the name ‘Facebook Recovery’ after you have recently posted or commented somewhere on Facebook then beware it’s a scam! Do not fall into the trick, it’s a new targeting scam sweeping across Facebook.
The Facebook scam message will have the following content, it will ask you to re-login and provide your credentials.
Notification: Your Account will be Disabled!
Account FACEBOOK you have already been reported by others about the abuse of account, this is a violation of our agreement and may result in your account is disabled. Please verify your email account to unblock and help us do more for security and convenience for everyone.
Immediately do recover your Facebook account, by clicking on the link below:
If you ignore this message, we can not recover your account and your account will be permanently disabled.
Sorry to interrupt your convenience.
The Facebook Team
After clicking the link you will be redirected to another page where you would be asked to login using your Facebook ID and password. And then finally it will load the ‘payment page’ where users must enter their credentials in order to gain access to their accounts.
The funny thing is this payment page has broken English. It reads, ‘Payment page you were laid off, please upgrade your credit card again to return the payment in Facebook.’
Hopefully you will know after this line in specific that this can’t be Facebook. Some enthusiasts who just CANNOT live without Facebook might fall for the trick because of their level of vulnerability. This scam has put Facebook and users at risk.
If you see any such message in your inbox, report it immediately.